Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Review - Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis #1) by Jaclyn Dolamore

Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1)Title: Dark Metropolis
Author: Jaclyn Dolamore
Series: 1st
Pages: 304
Published:  June 17th 2014 by Disney-Hyperion 
ISBN: 9781423163329
Source: Publisher via Netgalley

Description:  Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.  Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own. Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too. Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

I Give This ...

I've quite enjoyed Jaclyn Dolamore's work so far.  She managed to turn her stories into something unique.  This one is no exception.  

One can't help feel sorry for Thea soon after meeting her.  Her father is dead, or so they have been told.  Without a body and her mother's decent into madness, Thea is often left wondering if he's possibly still alive.  Her mother and father were bonded through magic with their marriage, a process now considered illegal.  Without his presence,  Thea's mother is going losing touch with reality a little more everyday.  If the people in authority knew this, they would take her away.  So, Thea does what she must and works hard to keep them feed and a roof over their head.

And then she meets Freddy, whose got a lot of problems of his own.  Taken from his parents to be raised by his uncle, his life has been focused on his talent.  You see, Freddy can raise people from the dead.  He sees it as giving them a second chance of life, but his uncle has been keeping something from him.  These people aren't returned to their families, and life might be stretch at what these people are living.  They are being used to run the city and kept in their place because they need something extra from becoming zombish creatures.

I really enjoyed how this story played out.  Thea faces some crazy things throughout, but she never back down from doing what is right.  Freddy final takes the blindfold off and realizes what he has helped to create.  I know he did it unknowingly, but I can't help but wonder what the true purpose of his powers are.   There has to be something useful about it.  Especially knowing how he can control it as well.

I will be looking forward to the next one!  I'm eager to get to know these characters more! 

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments!


Related Posts with Thumbnails